Sugar and life.

Life has been a little crazy recently.

Lots of big things have happened in a very short period of time.  Well, two big things: graduating from university and turning twenty-one.  It’s a lot to take in, particularly when they both occur in the space of forty-eight hours.  I don’t really have the words to describe it, but here goes…

Graduation was scary and surreal and amazing, all at the same time.  Wearing that black robe and burgundy hood, sitting in the Great Hall of the W.M Building with all the other graduands (because apparently, you’re not a graduate until you’ve actually had your degree conferred), walking across that stage to receive my degree, finally becoming a graduate…it was an experience like nothing else that I’ve ever been part of.  My friends and I kept saying how unbelievable it was, that we were really finishing our degrees after three incredible years.  It still seems unreal.  What happens now?  Is this really it?  That’s how it feels.

And what about turning twenty-one?  What do you say about something like that?  It was a low-key affair, just dinner with my parents at my (our) favourite restaurant in my university city, a place that we’re unlikely to go back to for some time now that I’m no longer studying there.  A nice day, that’s what it was.  And so, all my friends are now twenty-one or older; it’s a strange feeling, seeing all these people that I’ve known practically since we were eleven, growing up and moving on with life.  (One of them is even getting married at some point in the near future.  Now that’s a really surreal thought.)

Anyway, enough about me and my little life, I promised you not-quite cinnamon rolls, and not-quite cinnamon rolls you shall have!

Cinnamon roll muffins – 06/07/2012

These are Joy the Baker’s cinnamon roll muffins.  They’re basically just like cinnamon rolls, only without the roll part and the long preparation time.  The batter is made with yeast, giving a bread-like texture, while the brown sugar-cinnamon topping adds both crunch and a lovely level of sweetness.  The only thing that I would do differently next time is to make sure that I really swirl the sugar topping into the batter, as Joy advises, a step which I accidentally missed out and which led to an uneven distribution of sugar and cinnamon in my finished muffins.

Delicious served warm, straight from the oven.  If you like cinnamon and cinnamon rolls, you should give these a try!

(Recipe from Joy the Baker.)

2 thoughts on “Sugar and life.

  1. Dude your baking is looking so amazing these days! I have a slight proposition – basically I want to put some kind of food photography on my page thing (shh) and was wondering if at some point I could photograph some of your amazing creations? You can use the photos of course, OBVS. Also it would be a brilliant excuse to have a meet up. And less stressful than tennis… xxxx

    • Thank you! (Also, I had no idea that you read this blog, so that was a slight surprise, but a pleasant one…) Regarding your proposition, my answer is a resounding YES! The only thing is that I’ll need about a week or two weeks’ notice so that I can plan what I’m going to make – that way I can put together a variety of things for you to photograph! (Impromptu tea party afterwards? We could even rope the other girls in…thoughts?)

      Let me know when is good for you, and where, also – obviously either yours or mine, but if you want to do it at yours, it will probably have to be a weekend for transport reasons. (Also, just to let you know, I’m going to be away the week of the 28th August until the 1st September, so we obviously can’t do then!)

      But generally, this sounds like a great idea – just let me know when you want to do this!

      X

Leave a Reply

