Here we go again…

Change is coming.  It’s both exciting and terrifying, to tell you the honest truth.

I’m officially finishing university on Friday, the last day of this academic year.  That means I’ll be getting the results of my degree in my final tutorial, finding out how I’ve done in my recent exams, my dissertation, everything I’ve been working for since last October.  I’ll also be playing in my last university Symphony Orchestra concert on Wednesday.  It’s funny to think that it might be my last-ever concert too, although I sincerely hope not.  Still, it’ll be the end of a long era; my parents have attended nearly every school and university concert I’ve played in since I first took up the violin all those years ago and now, even that’s coming to its conclusion.  (I can’t believe how long it’s been, thirteen whole years. That’s more than half my lifetime…what a strange thought.)

The other big thing that’s happening soon is that I’ll be moving out of the house I’ve been living in for the past two years, this time for good.  I still can’t really take in the fact that I won’t be living here any more, or that come the beginning of July when the new tenants move in, someone else will be sitting in this chair, working at this desk.  Still, before that happens, I have to pack up all my things.  It’s so easy to underestimate the sheer amount of stuff you accumulate, living in the same house for two years.  Random biros, 3D-glasses that you don’t remember acquiring, plastic bags, piles of paper and cardboard, jewellery, stationary, all those little things that you just forget about…well, that looks like my week planned then.

On a totally unrelated note, let’s talk about brownies.

I know.  How many posts have I made about brownies already?  (It must be two or three already, though that’s probably showing restraint on my part.)  But just bear with me, everything will become clear very soon…

Brownies are my go-to bake.  (Did I say that already somewhere?  Maybe.  Sorry.)  When I want something with chocolate, or I want cake, or I just want something that’s easy to throw together, I make brownies.  I’ve made brownies with marshmallows, brownies with pecan nuts, brownies with sour cherries, brownies with Mars Bars.  The possibilities are endless. However, I’ve never made frosted brownies before.  That is, until now.

Chocolate brownies with peanut butter frosting – 13/04/2012

Brownies are great on their own, but sometimes I just want something a little bit more…decadent.  And this is it.  Chocolate brownies with peanut butter frosting.  Chocolate and peanut butter are a great combination, the sweet and salty balancing each other beautifully.  I left this batch of brownies plain (save for a smattering of chocolate chips), since the frosting adds its own extra dimension of flavour and texture.  The brownies were soft and fudgy and the frosting was light and creamy, a perfect complement.  As my mum would no doubt agree, these are perfect with a cup of tea!

(Recipes for brownies – omitting the marshmallows and graham crackers – and frosting from Joy the Baker.)

One thought on “Here we go again…

  1. Pingback: From dreams to reality. (And a really good brownie.) | the aspiring baker

Leave a Reply

