Dinner parties and desserts.

Life grows crazier and more hectic with every passing day and I’m not doing very well with my resolution to blog more frequently…

It doesn’t feel like four weeks since I last wrote here, but my page reliably tells me that my last entry was on February 15th.  It seems a lifetime ago, when I stop and think about everything that’s happened in this last month.  Since I last blogged, I have researched and written two 3000-word coursework essays, attended lectures and sat through countless hours of rehearsals.  I have prepared and given several class presentations and I have been to watch my housemate in the annual university dance show.  I have gone to an a capella concert, attended parties and a LeRoc freestyle or two, been to the LeRoc AGM, played in a four-night run of the student opera society’s production of Carmen and I have part-hosted a dinner party.  There is always something going on these days, and as I draw ever-nearer to the end of term and the Easter holiday, life only seem to be getting busier rather than slowing down.

At any rate, two of my housemates and I still managed to find time to host a small dinner party, as I’ve already mentioned.  Dividing up the courses between us, I naturally opted for dessert(!)  Indecisive as ever, it took me about three weeks to actually decide what I wanted to make – all those dreams of something lavish and complex involving choux pastry, creme patisserie and spun sugar were eventually compromised for something a little less challenging, but equally (at least, I hope) delicious.

Chocolate and sour cherry brownies – 19/02/2012

Brownies have recently become my go-to recipe; admittedly, it took me several years to track down my perfect recipe (found here, at Joy the Baker – I usually reduce the recipe slightly), but now that I have, I can’t stop making them.  They’re quick and simple to put together and are always popular with my housemates, so it got me thinking.  Why not do something a little different with them this time?  Why not incorporate them into a dessert?

And so that’s what I did.

I made dark chocolate and sour cherry brownies (with pecan nuts, to add some crunch), served with cherry compote, dark chocolate ganache and vanilla ice-cream (sadly not home-made, although I would love to learn to make my own ice-cream some day).  My quenelles need a bit of practice, but the dessert itself went down very well indeed.

All in all, I think it’s safe to say our dinner party was a success, not to mention a lovely opportunity to see friends and catch up.  With good food and great company, what more could you want?

One thought on “Dinner parties and desserts.

  1. Pingback: From dreams to reality. (And a really good brownie.) | the aspiring baker

Leave a Reply

