Mid-term madness.

After weeks of coursework and stress, life is starting to look up.

It’s been a long week, but there have been a lot of good things within it. My essay deadline has finally come and gone and it is a huge relief to be able to stop worrying about it. Having occupied all my time and attention for the last few weeks, it’s nice to be able to forget about it at last.  Also, the Symphony Orchestra are finally starting to sound good, just in time for our concert next Saturday; things are definitely about to kick up into high-gear though, beginning with extra rehearsals tomorrow.  The concert fear is beginning to set in(!)  On a totally unrelated note, LeRoc continues to be my escape from music, providing a regular opportunity to get out of the house, see friends, learn to dance and just have fun. It’s strange to think that we’re nearly at the end of term, when it feels like this academic year has hardly begun.  Come January, it will be exam and deadline season once more and I will only have two more terms left at university.  That’s the scariest part of all this, I think.  For now though, I am basking in the freedom of having no immediate work commitments and for the first time in around five weeks, I feel like I can relax, breathe and just slow down for a moment.  (Of course, next week will be manic with rehearsals every other day for either Symphony Orchestra or the opera ensemble and LeRoc classes too, but I like being busy…)

University life aside however, this weekend has given me an opportunity to bake for the first time in what feels like forever (even though I know it’s only been about a fortnight). Half of my housemates are away for the weekend and the other two are busy, so I have the house to myself all day and that’s the best excuse to break out the baking…

Chocolate Chip and Pecan Cookies – 26/11/2011

This time, I didn’t feel like going all-out and making a cake, so I settled on Chocolate Chip and Pecan Cookies, a nice twist on the old classic.  Milk chocolate chips made for a sweeter finish and coarsely chopped pecan nuts added crunch to the chewy cookies.  It’s a pretty standard combination, chocolate and pecans, but one that works well and these are definitely going to become part of my baking repertoire.  Any good chocolate chip cookie recipe will do; just add pecan nuts and enjoy with a tall glass of milk!

2 thoughts on “Mid-term madness.

Leave a Reply

